History of the Roxy

By the Numbers


In the News



Our Crew

Movie Ratings Guide

Contact Us

Give the Gift of Movies

Return to the Articles

from the Independent Press, January 29, 2004 - Article by Dennis Kopitzke, photos by Cathy Fleming

ABOUT THIS ARTICLE: The Forsyth Chamber of Commerce gives out its Community Awards every January for outstanding citizens. The winners are nominated by the public and voted on by the Chamber's board of directors. The award categories are Businessperson, Professional, Agriculture, Student, Senior Citizen, Employee, and Community Service. Over the years, seven of the Roxy's employees have won in the Student of the Year category; and Roxy owner Mike Blakesley is the only person (so far) to win the Businessperson award twice -- in 1996 and again in 2003.

Mike and Lynn Blakesley were named businesspeople of the year (for 2003). The Roxy Theatre has established itself as one of the great cornerstones of the Forsyth community. Over the last few years, a major renovation has taken place, and the business is one of the best of its kind in the state of Montana. The owners have made a commitment to bring the very best of their industry to the small rural community of Forsyth. Mike and Lynn have demonstrated a commitment to make their business the best possible. With their involvement in a wide variety of community projects, they have also made a significant contribution to improving the entire community.

Miranda Salsbery received the 2003 Student of the Year award. She has been an exemplary student throughout her high school career. Even with her hectic schedule, she has managed to remain on the honor roll at FHS all through high school. She has been a basketball cheerleader and played on the volleyball team. She is active as a lay minister in her church and has taught religion classes to young children. Miranda has also been a class officer, participated in FCCLA as a member and officer, and is FHS student body president for 2003-2004. She is deeply interested in school operations and is famous for her occasional "confrontations" with school officials when standing up for the student body's best interests. [Editor's note: Miranda began working at the Roxy before she entered high school and continued to help out when needed during college breaks.  Someday she might have a real job and be unable to fill in for us...that's a worry. She is currently attending college in Wahpeton, North Dakota.]

ROXY employees who were STUDENT OF THE YEAR winners:
Diane Eve (1982)
Laurie Smith (1989)
Shanna Clifford (1992)
Megan Taylor (1996)
Mandie Haselhuhn (1999)
Miranda Salsbery (2003)
Caitlin Watson (2005)